Know-how as code: the (java) developer's guide to the code generation

Java developers, especially those who are engaged in custom development, are constantly struggling to write less boilerplate code, be it trivial setters, getters, constructors, etc. or CRUD repositories and controllers. Often the answer is code generation in different forms: source code generation support in IDE, bytecode generation using Lombok, annotation processors generating new code, various frameworks that allow you to get an (almost) ready-made application from the model description and much more, not excluding new and traditional JVM languages that allow you to write more concise code and implement DSL for solving applied problems.

With undeniable benefits in the simplest cases, there come limitations that do not allow to realize what is required in a particular project, and worst of all, when the generated code becomes a source of hardly detectable defects, and special crutches on top of generated code are needed to fix it.
In this talk, we will give a retrospective of the most commonly used approaches, overview their strengths, limitations and practical applicability, and most importantly, we'll try to take control of the code generation situation so that it becomes a really useful tool for an effective developer.


Andrey Kogun,

CroC Inc.
Know-how as code: the (java) developer's guide to the code generation
Andrey Kogun,
CROC Inc.
Java developers, especially those who are engaged in custom development, are constantly struggling to write less boilerplate code, be it trivial setters, getters, constructors, etc. or CRUD repositories and controllers. Often the answer is code generation in different forms: source code generation support in IDE, bytecode generation using Lombok, annotation processors generating new code, various frameworks that allow you to get an (almost) ready-made application from the model description and much more, not excluding new and traditional JVM languages that allow you to write more concise code and implement DSL for solving applied problems.

With undeniable benefits in the simplest cases, there come limitations that do not allow to realize what is required in a particular project, and worst of all, when the generated code becomes a source of hardly detectable defects, and special crutches on top of generated code are needed to fix it.
In this talk, we will give a retrospective of the most commonly used approaches, overview their strengths, limitations and practical applicability, and most importantly, we'll try to take control of the code generation situation so that it becomes a really useful tool for an effective developer.
About speaker
About speaker
Andrei has been working in IT for more than 15 years, for the last 8 years — in CROC. During his career he took part in many custom development projects, mainly e-document flow systems and business processes automatization for several big Russian companies as a senior developer and an architect.

At the universities of Moscow, he delivers lectures in development basics with the use of Java technologies. Organizer and leader of Moscow Java developers community.
Another speakers
Another speakers
Our partners
Online partners
Click to order
Cart
Total: 
We will send confirmation of payment to the specified e-mail
Firstname
Lastname
Company
Position
E-mail
Оплачивая участие, вы соглашаетесь на обработку персональных данных и с условиями пользования сайтом

Know-how as code: прикладная кодогенерация для Java-разработчика

Java-разработчики, особенно те, кто заняты в заказной разработке, находятся в постоянной борьбе за то, чтобы писать меньше бойлерплейт кода, будь то тривиальные геттеры-сеттеры, конструкторы и т.п. или CRUD репозитории и контроллеры. Часто решением является кодогенерация в разных видах: поддержка генерации в IDE, генерация байткода при помощи Lombok, процессоры аннотаций, порождающие новый код, фреймворки, позволяющие по описанию модели получить готовое (почти) приложение и много чего еще, не исключая новые и не очень JVM-языки, которые позволяют писать более лаконичный код и реализовывать DSL-и для решения прикладных задач.

С неоспоримой пользой в самых простых случаях приходят и ограничения, не позволяющие реализовать то, что требуется в конкретном проекте, и хуже всего, когда генерируемый код является источником дефектов, которые сложно обнаружить, а для исправления требуются специальные "костыли" поверх того, что генерируется.

В докладе мы сделаем ретроспективу наиболее часто применяемых подходов, поговорим об их сильных сторонах, ограничениях и практической применимости, а главное, попробуем взять ситуацию с кодогенерацией под контроль, чтобы она стала реально полезным инструментом эффективного разработчика.


Андрей Когунь,

КРОК
Know-how as code: прикладная кодогенерация для Java-разработчика
Андрей Когунь,
КРОК
Java-разработчики, особенно те, кто заняты в заказной разработке, находятся в постоянной борьбе за то, чтобы писать меньше бойлерплейт кода, будь то тривиальные геттеры-сеттеры, конструкторы и т.п. или CRUD репозитории и контроллеры. Часто решением является кодогенерация в разных видах: поддержка генерации в IDE, генерация байткода при помощи Lombok, процессоры аннотаций, порождающие новый код, фреймворки, позволяющие по описанию модели получить готовое (почти) приложение и много чего еще, не исключая новые и не очень JVM-языки, которые позволяют писать более лаконичный код и реализовывать DSL-и для решения прикладных задач.

С неоспоримой пользой в самых простых случаях приходят и ограничения, не позволяющие реализовать то, что требуется в конкретном проекте, и хуже всего, когда генерируемый код является источником дефектов, которые сложно обнаружить, а для исправления требуются специальные "костыли" поверх того, что генерируется.

В докладе мы сделаем ретроспективу наиболее часто применяемых подходов, поговорим об их сильных сторонах, ограничениях и практической применимости, а главное, попробуем взять ситуацию с кодогенерацией под контроль, чтобы она стала реально полезным инструментом эффективного разработчика.
О спикере
O спикере
В IT более 15 лет. В компании КРОК — уже более 8 лет.

За свою карьеру принял участие в большом количестве проектов по заказной разработке, в основном систем электронного документооборота и автоматизации бизнес-процессов для ряда крупных российских компаний в роли ведущего разработчика и архитектора.

Преподает для студентов московских вузов курсы по основам разработки с применением Java-технологий. Основатель и организатор встреч московского сообщества Java-разработчиков JUG.MSK.
Другие спикеры
Другие спикеры
Партнёры SnowOne
Онлайн-партнёры
Click to order
Cart
Total: 
Личные данные напечатаем на бейдже, а на почту пришлём подтверждение оплаты в течение 30 минут
Имя
Фамилия
Компания
Должность
E-mail
Оплачивая участие, вы соглашаетесь на обработку персональных данных и с условиями пользования сайтом